Dedication – University of York Jazz Orchestra

The University of York Jazz Orchestra plays the music of:

  • Johnny Dyani
  • Mongezi Feza
  • Chris McGregor
  • Harry Miller
  • Louis Moholo-Moholo
  • Dudu Pukwana

With special guests:

  • Julian Argüelles (saxophone
  • Dennis Rollins (trombone)

One of the most dramatic interventions in the 1960s London music scene came when a group of supremely talented musical exiles arrived from South Africa. Amongst these were The Blue Notes (Johnny Dyani, Mongezi Feza, Chris McGregor, Louis Moholo-Moholo, Nik Moyake and Dudu Pukwana), and bassist Harry Miller. Nearly 30 years later the only surviving member of that generation – Louis Moholo-Moholo – and Hazel Miller (Ogun Records) commissioned top UK arrangers to reimagine the music of the South African exiles for a new large ensemble, The Dedication Orchestra. John Fordham declared their debut at the 100 Club to be ‘gig of the year’ and for this concert the University of York Jazz Orchestra are delighted to present a selection of their repertoire – ‘a bustling mix of freedom and discipline, of community and individualism.’ (The Guardian)

The arrangements of the South African exiles’ music featured in this concert are by Django Bates, John Law, Radu Malfatti, Eddie Parker, David Powell, John Warren, and Kenny Wheeler.

Special guests Julian Argüelles (saxophone) and Dennis Rollins (trombone) both played in the legendary Brotherhood of Breath big band that was built around the unique musical voices of Dyani, Feza, McGregor, Miller, Moholo-Moholo and Pukwana.