Joseph Houston, piano

Joseph Houston, piano

Friday 19 February 2016 at 7.30PM
Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall

Debussy     Images Book II

Simon Holt    Darling Eve in the evil garden

Feldman    Palais de mari

Xenakis     Mists

John Stringer    Disquiet II

Bartók    Out of Doors Suite

A beguiling kaleidoscope of a century of solo piano music to which Joseph Houston’s virtuosic and searching style is perfectly suited.  The programme includes a new work by Simon Holt, written for Joseph Houston.  A former student at York, he went on to study at the Royal College of Music and is the recipient of several awards, including the Musicians Benevolent Fund’s Emerging Excellence Award and selection for the Park Lane Group Young Artist Series. He made his Wigmore Hall debut in 2013 and has performed around the UK and in China.

Pre-concert talk:  6.30pm
Rymer Auditorium
Simon Holt and Joseph Houston
Free, no ticket required

Tickets: £14; concessions £12; students £3